What does “Ju-Jitsu” mean?

Seek to understand the root. — It is futile to argue as to which single leaf, which design of branch, or which attractive flower you like; when you understand the root, you understand all its blossoming.~Bruce Lee

A short while ago one night I was drinking and had a terrible idea:  I would walk to the store, buy another bottle, set my facebook security to “public” and tell the world what was on my mind.  I didn’t make the decision sober, and by the time I got setup for my big release I was already blacked out (this didn’t stop me though).  Drinking is a problem for me I admit, and although I have been working on toning it down for many years, once in awhile after I have a few reasonable amount of drinks I “accidentally” fall into the bottle.  It’s still a problem, and there is no excuse, but it wouldn’t be accurate to say that I am an alcoholic in the frequent drinker sense. Rather I seem to get my self into situations that I wouldn’t otherwise get into, that taken out of context (which no one is ever aware of) makes it look like a different kind of a problem than it is. Enough of the denial.

But also furthermore…

I let out some things that seemed to be on my chest but they didn’t at all come out in an intelligible fashion, and basically after mouthing off every (mixed) martial artist, BJJ student, and every fan of both on my facebook feed, I pretty much fell asleep on the “OSSSSS” key.  I woke up early in the morning with an ultra hang over obviously, barely knowing what I did, and just in time to write “sellout” on the profile of someone who has actually historically been close time me and someone I like very much and respect.  It wasn’t until much later that next day I forced myself to delete, and therefore read, everything I had said.

Much of it wasn’t even at all how I really felt.
But there is an intelligible point I was trying to make.

Video: Fake Black Belt Outed And Was Asked To Remove The Belt

This video, is not in the spirit of Ju Jitsu.  Ju Jitsu means (roughly translated) “gentle art”.  What is gentle about this black belt instructors approach?  Many of his students would no doubt point out their instructor showed great reserve in not harming the man.

Then if you check out the comment sections of this posted video many students of the art of BJJ reply “Ossss“.  This is “supposed” to be a showing of respect and or is often used as a term of agreement and endearment.

This is where I have drawn the line with those that believe and/or say they train Brazilian Jiu Jitsu or any Jiu Jitsu, and that maintain this type of paradigm at the core of their studies. This type of attitude pervades the dojos of these minded peoples and creates an environment that I think should be avoided (or better yet dissolved).

The instructor in that video was very adamant and very loud about the “fact” that he is a black belt. I must note this black belt is in a martial art that roughly translates to “Brazilian GENTLE ART”! He had the student  demonstrate the student doesn’t understand the belt system, and then chastised him about not understanding the significance of a black belt!?

I think black belts like this need to think about “What am I teaching?” and “How am I teaching it?” and students of BJJ should spend some time thinking “What am I learning?” and “How should I be learning this?”  The example in the video is NOT the gentle art and I see we have a plethora of martial artists in this world that have completely lost touch with the root of their art.

What we are after is the ROOT and not the branches. The root is the real knowledge; the branches are surface knowledge. Real knowledge breeds “body feel” and personal expression; surface knowledge breeds mechanical conditioning and imposing limitation and squelches creativity.
Leave a Reply

